Understanding the Real Political Situation in Global 1940 Axis & Allies
January 30, 2017
October 1989, the BBC aired for the first time a mini series *The Road To War* documented on BBC 2 narrated by Charles Wheeler. He explains the history of what actually happened in WW2, who did what to corrupt yet again another World War campaign just 21 years after the end of WW1. He targets the Sleeping Giant of the USA, the Pacific giant Japanese, along with other nations like neutral Soviet Union.
Axis & Allies Global 1940 – Second Edition Rules (Mobile Friendly)
August 6, 2016
You’re playing Axis & Allies Global 1940 and need to look up the rules on your smartphone. That PDF is nasty to dig through on a phone, right? Below find a copy/paste of *most* of the rules necessary to play Global 1940 with Second Edition rules. Some of the more basic items have been left out. It’s more useful for those who have played the game many times but still need to look up a rule here and there. For the full rules consult our Axis & Allies Rule Books page. Continue Reading
Convoy Rule in Axis & Allies 1940: Calculating Damage
April 13, 2016
The Convoy rule in Axis & Allies 1940 (Europe, Pacific, Global) isn’t the most easily written rule in the rule book. Below is a summarized version.
If an enemy warship is in an opponents’ sea zone with a ‘convoy’ marker, the IPCs collected at the end of a turn can be reduced based on convoy damage inflicted, per below.
Submarines and Axis & Allies 1940
June 13, 2015
I never spent the time to really understand all the rules surrounding submarines. Why? Well, I prefer my battleships. Ridiculous reason, I know, especially considering your opposition may be a sub-freak.
So, here are the interesting things about submarines (for the Europe/Pacific/Global 1940 game at least) that I was initially unaware of:
When Liberating a Country, That Country’s IPCs Revert Back to the Liberated Country
May 30, 2015
I just did a quick bit of ‘googling’ to find the answer to this:
If a country is liberated (so, they weren’t collecting any more IPCs and may not even be anywhere on the board anymore), what happens once they’re liberated in terms of IPC/income/etc.
Research Rolls: Do They Make Sense?
January 11, 2015
We play with the Research & Development (aka ‘Weapons Development’) optional rule quite a bit now, most recently in Axis & Allies Global 1940. The way we play (correct?) is that if the research has failed (i.e. not rolling a ‘6’) then the research token is still alive and available to roll for again in your next turn. You don’t lose the token on failed research, and thus don’t have to buy another one to roll again next around.
Does that make any sense?