Convoy Rule in Axis & Allies 1940: Calculating Damage

The Convoy rule in Axis & Allies 1940 (Europe, Pacific, Global) isn’t the most easily written rule in the rule book. Below is a summarized version.

If an enemy warship is in an opponents’ sea zone with a ‘convoy’ marker, the IPCs collected at the end of a turn can be reduced based on convoy damage inflicted, per below.

How many dice do I roll?

  • for each battleship, cruiser, destroyer: roll 1 dice
  • for each submarine or air unit (air unit on a carrier): roll 2 dice

How do I calculate IPC damage?

  • Ignore rolls of 4 or higher
  • Add up the values of the remaining dice (i.e. rolls of 3 or less) to determine the total IPC damage*

* the total damage value cannot exceed the IPC value shown on the board for the adjacent defending territory/territories — even if it’s on the receiving end of multiple convoy disruptions.

An example of convoy damage calculation, as swiped from the rule book:

Axis & Allies 1940 Convoy Damage Example

5 thoughts on “Convoy Rule in Axis & Allies 1940: Calculating Damage

  1. General Patton

    Can you chose to not do convoy disruption? For example Germany is about to take London on the next turn. Why deplete London’s cash if you are about to take it?

    1. Freddie

      My understanding is that it’s optional — You can choose not to. Half the time we forget to?! Heh. Thanks for the comment.

  2. Steve

    April 2, 2024. Axis and Allies Global, 1940.

    Does a country need to be at war to have a convoy attack on it? For example if UK Pacific is not at war, can Japanese units conduct a convoy attack on Borneo (4 ipcs) in sea zone 43?
    I’m assuming since convoys are done at the collect income phase, no war needs to be in effect, just like merchant ships from countries not at war, were attacked in WW2, especially by German submarines. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.